The Deal Tape

Voltus Raises $225M Series D to Expand Virtual Power Plants in the US and Canada

Voltus Series D: the San Francisco virtual power plant operator raised $225M, led by Generation Investment Management, and targets 20 GW by 2030.

By Archit Tamrakar · · 6 min read

SAN FRANCISCO, 8 October 2026. Voltus, a San Francisco virtual power plant operator, announced a $225 million oversubscribed Series D. Generation Investment Management led the round, with Activate Capital and Vitol as co-leads. The company says it expects to reach 20 gigawatts (GW) of platform capacity by 2030.

Voltus did not disclose a valuation. The announcement is the company's own, and the figures below are labelled as company claims where they are not independently confirmed.

How much did Voltus raise and who invested?

Voltus raised $225 million in a Series D financing round, according to the company's 8 October release. The release says Generation Investment Management led the round alongside co-leads Activate Capital and Vitol. Broadscale Group, Climate Investment, NGP, Ajax Strategies and All Aboard Fund also participated.

Bloomberg, republished by Energy Connects, reported the same amount and described Generation as the sustainability investor co-founded by former US Vice-President Al Gore. Latitude Media calls the round "oversubscribed" and says it was co-led by all three firms.

ItemDetailSource
Amount$225 millionVoltus release, 8 Oct 2026
RoundSeries D, oversubscribedVoltus release
LeadGeneration Investment ManagementVoltus release
Co-leadsActivate Capital, VitolVoltus release
Other investorsBroadscale Group, Climate Investment, NGP, Ajax Strategies, All Aboard FundVoltus release
ValuationNot disclosedThe Next Web, 8 Oct 2026

What does Voltus do?

Voltus describes itself as a distributed energy resource (DER) technology platform and virtual power plant operator. Per the company, it taps capacity in batteries, cooling systems and industrial processes at thousands of businesses and homes, and dispatches it into electricity markets every day.

A virtual power plant works by coordinating many small assets so that, together, they act like one power source. In a June 2026 release, Voltus put it this way: "a VPP acts as a decentralized power plant." Participating customers are paid for the flexibility they provide.

The company's platform capacity is about 8.5 GW today, Bloomberg reported, and The Next Web cites Voltus's website for the same figure. This is a company-reported number, and it measures capacity on the platform, not power delivered.

What is Bring Your Own Capacity?

Bring Your Own Capacity (BYOC) is Voltus's program for large electricity users such as data centers. Voltus describes it as a solution that lets large loads such as hyperscalers bring firm, flexible capacity to the table to facilitate data center interconnection and support the grid. Voltus orchestrates batteries and smart thermostats to reduce demand when the grid needs it, and homes and businesses get paid for participating.

Two agreements show the model in practice:

DatePartnerAnnounced termsSource
2 June 2026GoogleThree-year BYOC agreement; Voltus will aggregate up to 100 MW of DERs each year into a Google-funded VPP in PJMVoltus release
17 August 2026SunrunSunrun will provide capacity from a portion of its residential storage-plus-solar systems in PJM and MISOVoltus release

Neither release states a dollar value. The Sunrun release gives no megawatt figure or term. Latitude Media reports that Google is Voltus's first official BYOC customer and that Guernsey called the partnership a key proof point.

What will Voltus do with the money?

Voltus says it will use the funding to help close the grid's capacity gap. The release states that the company anticipates growing its platform to 20 GW by 2030 as it executes on its BYOC program in PJM and MISO and expands its leadership position across the U.S. and Canada. PJM is the grid operator covering much of the eastern US, and MISO covers the central US.

Outlets framed the use of funds in slightly different ways:

  • ESG Today reports the capital supports scaling BYOC programs and accelerating battery deployment.
  • Latitude Media quotes Guernsey saying the 20 GW goal means scaling go-to-market operations, including sales and customer onboarding. It adds that the goal would depend heavily on battery deployment through the integration of Brightfield, an energy storage startup it describes as acquired.
  • Bloomberg says Guernsey described the aim as boosting Voltus's ability to provide data centers with their own capacity, which grid operators, utilities and regulators increasingly demand.

Voltus has not published a split of the $225 million by category.

Why are investors backing grid flexibility now?

The company's stated case is demand growth. The release cites the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), which it says expects peak demand to grow 24 percent over the next decade, more than double the growth it forecast two years ago. This is Voltus's characterization of the NERC forecast.

The investors' statements, all from the release, make three separate arguments:

  • Generation Investment Management. Dave Easton, Partner, Growth Equity, said: "As electricity demand rises, the fastest, most cost effective and lowest-carbon source of new capacity is often the one already connected to the grid."
  • Activate Capital. Raj Atluru, Managing Partner, said: "Flexibility is the fastest and cheapest capacity the grid can add, and Voltus has spent a decade building the platform and market access to deliver it at scale."
  • Vitol. R. Andrew de Pass, Head of Energy Transition Investments at Vitol Inc., said Vitol is "one of the largest power traders in the US, giving us a deep understanding of market dynamics."

CEO Dana Guernsey said in the release: "Electricity is now the constraint behind almost every major ambition we have, but it doesn't have to be. The question is no longer whether the grid needs flexibility, it's how quickly we can make it foundational."

These are statements from the company and its investors, not independent findings.

Who founded Voltus?

Voltus's leadership page lists three co-founders: Dana Guernsey (Chief Executive Officer & Co-founder), Matthew Plante (President & Co-founder) and Neil Lakin (Chief Architect & Co-founder). ESG Today says the company was founded in 2016.

How much has Voltus raised in total?

Voltus has not published a cumulative total including the Series D. The last round before it was a $31 million Series C, which Latham & Watkins reported on 13 May 2021. That round was led by Activate Capital and included existing investors NGP Energy Technology Partners III, Prelude Ventures and Ajax Strategies. The law firm said it brought total equity financing to date to over $65 million at that point.

RoundDateAmountLeadSource
Series CMay 2021$31 millionActivate CapitalLatham & Watkins
Series D8 October 2026$225 millionGeneration Investment ManagementVoltus release

Latitude Media calls the Series D Voltus's first raise since 2021. Activate Capital led the Series C and is now a Series D co-lead. NGP and Ajax Strategies also appear in both rounds. The "over $65 million" figure is a 2021 cumulative total, so it should not be added to the Series D to produce a current total.

What's still unclear?

Several points are not resolved by the public record as of 12 October 2026.

  • Valuation. The Next Web says Voltus did not disclose it. Neither the release nor the other coverage gives one.
  • Lead versus co-lead. The release says Generation led with two co-leads. Latitude Media says all three co-led. Bloomberg says Generation led "along with Vitol and Activate Capital."
  • Investor names. The release lists "Climate Investment" and "All Aboard Fund." Bloomberg writes "Climate Investment Funds" and "All Aboard Funding Ltd." and gives a longer name for NGP. This article uses the release's spelling.
  • Capacity measurement. The 8.5 GW and 20 GW figures are company-reported platform capacity. They do not say how much is accredited by grid operators or dispatched in a given year.
  • Contract value. The Google and Sunrun agreements carry no disclosed dollar value, so revenue from BYOC cannot be estimated from public information.
  • Geographic detail. The release mentions PJM, MISO and expansion across the U.S. and Canada. It does not name new Canadian markets or timelines.
  • IPO. Latitude Media reports that Guernsey declined to comment directly on IPO plans and said an IPO is one of many options being considered. No filing or announcement has been made.

The weakest point in the thesis is the dependence on a small number of large agreements. Only one named hyperscaler customer, Google, has been announced for BYOC, and its volume is up to 100 MW a year, against a 20 GW target.

Frequently asked questions

How much did Voltus raise in its Series D?

Voltus announced a $225 million Series D on 8 October 2026. The company called the round oversubscribed. Generation Investment Management led it, with Activate Capital and Vitol as co-leads. Voltus did not disclose a valuation in the announcement, and the outlets that covered the round did not report one.

Who led the Voltus Series D?

According to Voltus, Generation Investment Management led the round alongside co-leads Activate Capital and Vitol. Latitude Media describes the round as co-led by all three. Other investors named by the company are Broadscale Group, Climate Investment, NGP, Ajax Strategies and All Aboard Fund.

What will Voltus do with the money?

Voltus says it anticipates growing its platform to 20 gigawatts by 2030. It plans to do that by running its Bring Your Own Capacity program in PJM and MISO and by expanding across the U.S. and Canada. The company did not publish a dollar breakdown of how the funds will be allocated.

What is a virtual power plant?

A virtual power plant, or VPP, links many small energy assets such as batteries, thermostats and industrial equipment, and operates them together. Voltus says it dispatches that flexibility into electricity markets daily. Participants are paid when the grid needs them to cut demand or supply power.

When was Voltus's previous funding round?

Voltus announced a $31 million Series C in May 2021, led by Activate Capital. Latitude Media describes the Series D as the company's first raise since then. At the time of the Series C, Voltus's total equity financing was over $65 million, according to law firm Latham & Watkins.

Is Voltus planning an IPO?

Latitude Media reports that CEO Dana Guernsey declined to comment directly on IPO plans. According to that outlet, she said going public through an initial public offering is one of several options the company is considering. Voltus has not announced an IPO.

Sources

  1. Voltus Raises $225 Million to Make Flexibility Foundational to the Grid, Voltus (2026-10-08)
  2. Voltus raises $225 million to scale BYOC for data centers, Latitude Media (2026-10-08)
  3. Vitol Among Investors Backing Flexible Power For Data Centers, Bloomberg via Energy Connects (2026-10-08)
  4. Voltus raises $225M to turn homes and batteries into power for data centres, The Next Web (2026-10-08)
  5. Virtual Power Plant Platform Voltus Raises $225 Million, ESG Today (2026-10-09)
  6. Voltus and Google to Deliver Grid Capacity and Local Economic Benefits Through Bring Your Own Capacity Agreement, Voltus (2026-06-02)
  7. Sunrun to Supply Voltus with Energy Capacity for AI Hyperscaler Agreements, Voltus (2026-08-17)
  8. Latham & Watkins Advises Voltus in its US$31 Million Series C Financing, Latham & Watkins (2021-05-13)
  9. Voltus leadership, Voltus (2026-10-12)