Daptic Raises $15M Series A Led by Canvas Ventures, $22M Total
Daptic Series A: the New York compliance software startup raised $15M led by Canvas Ventures on 1 October 2026. Total raised is $22M, not the round size.
Daptic, a New York software company that helps manufacturers build regulatory requirements into product design, announced a $15 million Series A led by Canvas Ventures on 1 October 2026. The round brings the total the company says it has raised to $22 million. The two numbers are easy to confuse: the company's own headline says "Raises $22M," but the Series A is $15 million.
How much did Daptic raise and who invested?
Daptic raised $15 million in Series A financing, bringing the total raised to $22 million, according to its press release dated New York, 1 October 2026. Canvas Ventures led. IA Ventures, 8VC "and others" took part. No other investors are named in the release.
AlleyWatch's funding report of 1 October 2026 gives the same lead and participants. Pulse 2.0 reported the round on 2 October 2026 with the same figures.
| Item | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Round | Series A | Daptic release |
| Amount | $15 million | Daptic release |
| Lead | Canvas Ventures | Daptic release |
| Participants | IA Ventures, 8VC, others | Daptic release |
| Total raised to date | $22 million (company figure) | Daptic release |
| Valuation | Not disclosed | None published |
| Announced | 1 October 2026 | Daptic release |
Two board seats came with the round. Rebecca Lynn, co-founder and general partner at Canvas Ventures, and Brad Gillespie, co-founder and general partner at IA Ventures, will join Daptic's board of directors, per the company.
Is $22 million the Series A or the total?
It is the total. The $22 million figure is cumulative funding, and the Series A is $15 million. The company's release makes the split in its first paragraph, even though the headline leads with the larger number.
That matters for anyone logging the deal in a database. Recording $22 million as the round overstates it by $7 million. The company has not itemised that $7 million difference, so this article does not attribute it to a named earlier round or investor.
What does Daptic do?
Daptic sells software for what it calls product compliance lifecycle management. The company says the platform gives regulatory, legal and engineering teams one shared system to determine which rules apply, interpret their impact, turn them into product requirements and assign ownership.
The workflow starts with monitoring regulatory change and runs through analysis, interpretation and requirement generation. For new products, requirements feed into early design. The release says AI makes this work faster and more thorough, and that customers' regulatory and legal specialists and engineers stay in control of decisions.
The release gives examples of the rules it has in mind: extended producer responsibility, packaging and recycling requirements, and chemical restrictions such as PFAS. On its homepage the company says it is monitoring 10,000+ sources worldwide, as of 13 October 2026. That figure is the company's own claim and does not appear in the press release.
Daptic's pitch, in the words of CEO Baptiste Bouvier from the release: "Regulatory requirements should not be a gate at the end of development. They should shape how products are designed from the beginning." The same quote was carried by Dealroom News.
Who are Daptic's customers?
The only customer named is Honda. The release says Daptic is "fast becoming the product compliance platform of choice for the world's largest enterprises, especially manufacturers like Honda". Dealroom News separately says customers include manufacturers such as Honda.
The "platform of choice" line is a company claim. No customer count, revenue or contract size has been published.
Who founded Daptic?
Baptiste Bouvier is co-founder and CEO. According to the company release, he researched computer science and electrical engineering at MIT, where he saw that critical product work happened in the gap between published regulations and the requirements engineering teams need. Hannah Collins is co-founder and CTO. Gabby Finear is COO.
The sources differ slightly on Finear. The release says Bouvier founded the company "together with" Collins and Finear but does not use the word co-founder for her. AlleyWatch lists all three as founders and gives 2023 as the founding year.
The company was previously called DiploAI. Daptic's homepage lists a post dated 1 March 2026, "Introducing Daptic: A New Chapter for DiploAI," which says the rename is official. Anyone searching older records for the company should try both names.
What will the money be used for?
The company says it will scale to keep pace with customer demand, support deployments that span entire product portfolios and continue investing in R&D. The stated goal is to make regulatory requirements a core input to product development from the first design decisions. No hiring targets, product launches or expansion markets were announced with the round.
Daptic lists offices in New York and Tokyo on its homepage. The company has not said whether the new funding is tied to either location.
Why did Canvas Ventures back it?
The only stated reason comes from Canvas Ventures' Rebecca Lynn in the release. She said: "The work of translating regulation into engineering decisions sits at a critical intersection between product development and market access, yet it has historically lacked purpose-built technology." She added that Daptic "is on track to become the de facto system that leading global manufacturers use to launch faster by bringing compliance into product development."
Both statements are from an investor announcing her own firm's deal and should be read as such. They are the company-approved account of the investment thesis, not an independent assessment.
What's still unclear?
Several basics are not public:
- Valuation. Neither the release nor the coverage reviewed gives one.
- Revenue and customer count. Honda is the only named customer. "The world's largest enterprises" is a company characterization with no number attached.
- Earlier funding. The $7 million between the Series A and the $22 million total is not broken down by round, date or investor in the company's release.
- Founder status. Whether Finear is formally a co-founder is described differently by the company and by AlleyWatch.
- Dates. The company dateline and Dealroom News say 1 October 2026. Pulse 2.0 is dated 2 October 2026. The announcement date is 1 October.
The weakest point in the pitch is evidence. The case for Daptic rests on the company's description of its product and on investor commentary. No independent measurement of how much time or cost the platform saves has been published, and the claim that AI is "surfacing requirements that manual review can miss" is the company's own.
Frequently asked questions
How much did Daptic raise in its Series A?
Daptic raised $15 million in Series A financing, according to the company's press release dated 1 October 2026. The release headline says $22 million, but that is the total raised to date, which the company's own text states separately from the round.
Who led Daptic's Series A?
Canvas Ventures led the round. IA Ventures, 8VC and unnamed other investors participated, per the company release. Rebecca Lynn of Canvas Ventures and Brad Gillespie of IA Ventures are joining Daptic's board of directors.
What does Daptic do?
Daptic sells software for what it calls product compliance lifecycle management. Manufacturers use it to work out which regulations apply to a product, interpret them, and turn them into engineering requirements with assigned owners. The company names Honda as a customer.
Is $22 million the Series A amount?
No. The $22 million figure is the cumulative total Daptic says it has raised. The Series A itself is $15 million. The company has not itemised the earlier $7 million difference in its release.
What is Daptic's valuation?
Not disclosed. Neither the company's release nor the news coverage reviewed for this article states a valuation, revenue figure or customer count.
Sources
- Daptic Raises $22M From Canvas Ventures, IA Ventures, 8VC and Others to Bring Compliance Into Product Development, Daptic (2026-10-01)
- Daptic Raises $15 Million Series A For Product Compliance Platform, Pulse 2.0 (2026-10-02)
- The AlleyWatch Startup Daily Funding Report: 10/1/2026, AlleyWatch (2026-10-01)
- Daptic raises $15M Series A to build compliance into product design, Dealroom News (2026-10-01)
- Daptic homepage, Daptic (2026-10-13)