WED, NOV 4, 2026Every number checked against the filing.

Blacksmith Raises $66M Series C at $1B Valuation, Led by Sequoia Capital

Blacksmith raised $66M in Series C led by Sequoia Capital at a stated $1B valuation, per its 21 October 2026 release. Pre- or post-money is not stated.

By Archit Tamrakar · LinkedIn · · 4 min read

Blacksmith raised $66 million in a Series C round led by Sequoia Capital, at a stated valuation of $1 billion, the company announced on 21 October 2026. The release was datelined San Francisco. It does not say whether the $1 billion is measured before or after the new money.

Cooley, the law firm that advised Blacksmith, published the same amount, lead and valuation on the same day, so the round details rest on two primary sources. Neither says whether the valuation is pre-money or post-money. Rise Productive, an independent review, describes the $1 billion as the company's stated transaction value.

How much did Blacksmith raise and who invested?

Blacksmith raised $66 million in Series C funding, the company said on 21 October 2026. With this round, its total funding reaches $125 million. The $66 million is the size of the new round, not the company's total. Sequoia Capital led the round. Premji Invest participated, and existing investors Peak XV Partners, GV and Y Combinator took part as well. Cooley, which advised Blacksmith on the deal, published the same amount, lead and valuation the same day.

ItemStated detailWho says so
RoundSeries CCompany release; Cooley
Amount$66 millionCompany release; Cooley
Lead investorSequoia CapitalCompany release; Cooley
Other participantsPremji Invest; existing investors Peak XV Partners, GV and Y CombinatorCompany release; Cooley
Stated valuation$1 billionCompany release; Cooley
Legal adviser to BlacksmithCooleyCooley

The legal adviser row comes only from Cooley's coverage, since that is the only source that names Cooley's role. The valuation basis is covered in the next section.

Is the $1 billion valuation pre-money or post-money?

The release states a $1 billion valuation without saying which basis it uses. Rise Productive describes the $1 billion as the company's stated transaction value, not cash raised. It is the only source in this story that uses that phrase, so the label rests on one independent review.

The company has not said whether the $1 billion is pre-money or post-money, and no source checked for this story gives a pre-money figure.

A reader who wants to check the basis can open the release and the Cooley page and search both for the words "pre-money" and "post-money". Neither page uses either term in the text checked for this story. Until one of them does, the $1 billion stays a stated valuation, and the cash figure of $66 million is the one that can be checked against the round's sources.

What does Blacksmith do?

Blacksmith runs builds and tests for other companies, according to techfundingnews, which covered the round on 22 October 2026, one day after the release. The company describes itself as an infrastructure platform for building and testing code. It claims its platform runs builds and tests twice as fast and at 60% lower cost on average.

The company is based in San Francisco, per its release, which was datelined there. Blacksmith was founded in 2024 by Aditya "JP" Jayaprakash, Aayush Shah and Aditya Maru.

Its customer, growth and speed claims are the company's own, not independently checked. The company reports that its annual recurring revenue grew 17x since January, and that weekly continuous integration (CI) jobs on its platform rose from 5 million to over 90 million. It says it manages nearly 10 MW of compute across data centers in the United States and Europe, and plans to grow that footprint at least 5x in 2027. The Rise Productive review makes the same point: those claims are issuer-reported and do not prove a general return on investment.

Why does the basis of the valuation matter to founders and investors?

A headline valuation mixes two numbers: the cash raised and the company's value before or after that cash. The round amount is stated by the company and its adviser. The valuation basis is not. Without a basis label, a reader who repeats "$1 billion" cannot say what the new money bought.

For a founder, the label changes how the round compares with other rounds of its size. For an investor, it changes how much of the company the new money bought. Neither reader can settle that from the release alone, so a headline that says only "$1 billion" leaves both the price and the share unclear.

The same check applies to any round. The difference between round size and total funding and the Form D filing that a company files for its offering are the two documents to compare before repeating a valuation.

What's still unclear?

  • Pre-money or post-money. The company's release does not state the basis, and no source checked gives a pre-money figure. A Form D filing, if one exists, would confirm the offering amount.
  • What the $1 billion measures. Rise Productive calls it the stated transaction value, so the valuation is not a cash figure.
  • Growth and speed claims. Customer, growth and speed claims are issuer-reported. Rise Productive notes that they are not proof of a general return on investment.

These are the open questions this story cannot close. Until the company, Cooley or a filing confirms the basis, the $66 million and the Sequoia lead are the figures to repeat, and the $1 billion should carry the label the sources give it: a stated valuation, with the basis unconfirmed.

Frequently asked questions

How much did Blacksmith raise in its Series C?

Blacksmith raised $66 million in Series C funding, according to the company's announcement dated 21 October 2026. Cooley, the law firm that advised Blacksmith on the deal, reported the same amount. The $66 million is the size of this round, not the company's total funding to date.

Who led Blacksmith's Series C round?

Sequoia Capital led the round. Premji Invest participated, and existing investors Peak XV Partners, GV and Y Combinator took part as well, according to the company's release and Cooley's coverage, both dated 21 October 2026.

Is Blacksmith's $1 billion valuation pre-money or post-money?

The company's release does not say. Rise Productive, an independent review, calls the $1 billion the company's stated transaction value, not cash raised. Until the company or a filing confirms the basis, treat the $1 billion as a stated valuation with its basis unconfirmed.

Where is Blacksmith based?

Blacksmith is based in San Francisco. The company's release was datelined San Francisco on 21 October 2026. Techfundingnews, in coverage dated 22 October 2026, also describes the company as San Francisco-based and says it runs builds and tests for other companies.

Sources

  1. Blacksmith Raises Sequoia-Led Series C at $1 Billion Valuation to Scale Code Validation, PRNewswire (2026-10-21)
  2. Blacksmith Raises Series C at $1 Billion Valuation, Cooley (2026-10-21)
  3. Blacksmith's $66M Series C backs AI code testing, techfundingnews.com (2026-10-22)
  4. Blacksmith announces $66 million Series C at a $1 billion valuation, Rise Productive (2026-10-21)